We The People…are going to Africa!

December 17, 2010

After over a year of work, beating the ground looking for folks to take notice and receiving donations of all types of support, we are on our way to Senegal. I can’t believe it myself even as I type this. A young man from the Brownsville section of Brooklyn will wake up very soon on the continent from which my ancestors came. In my lifetime I will get to walk on the land my people were snatched from. When I wrote a poem about that event back in the 4th or 5th grade I never dreamed this day would come.

I really want to thank all of you who have been supportive of this effort. Thank you to Rico for having the vision and drive to make We The People a reality. Thanks to Shino for using her lens to capture something truly beautiful. And most of all thank you both for bringing me into a project I truly believe in and feel represents my upbringing to the utmost.

I hope to make all of my people proud as I leave from New York City today. I will try to update my blog as often as I can while I’m out in Dakar. Can you believe that I’ll be bringing in the New Year on another continent. How crazy is that!?!

www.debunkthemyth.net

One Response to “We The People…are going to Africa!”

  1. Universal Truth said

    No need to swim when you can fly. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

