Brooklyn says Happy Birthday MJ with L.O.V.E

August 31, 2010

Brooklyn Loves Michael Jackson

The weather reports let it be known that hitting 95 and higher was very possible. This is not weather to act a fool in. However for Michael Joseph Jackson I will go above and beyond. Spike Lee and DJ Spinna decided to let the world know that Brooklyn will never forget MJ and we want the world to know his greatness.

Shino and I had a friend in town from DC, Motoko, and the three of us eased on down to Prospect Park. As we entered from Ocean Ave I could hear my favorite song from the Dangerous album “Who Is It.” This is a song I never EVER hear outside of my own headphones. I knew the day was going to be special. Almost immediately we found our friends Lorraine, Cynthia and the rest of the fun bunch. We sat our bags down filled with water and got ready to dance and sing our hearts out.

There was a nice crowd in the park which continued to grow as the day went on. A section of folks wouldn’t move past the trees scared of the suns relentless rays. Those of us who chose to brave the direct heat were treated to a true communal spirit. A gang of MJ impersonators were on deck both young and old. Once I hooked up with my man 50 grand B. Polite the dancing went up 5 notches. DJ Spinna threw on everything from “Dancing Machine” to “It’s the Falling in Love” to my favorite MJ song period “Another Part Of Me”. There were tons of beautiful women sprinkled throughout the crowd, all looking to dance and have a good time. There wasn’t a speck of pretension in the place. My favorite moment of the day was when my friend Lorraine jump started an electric slide session. As the numbers grew and grew I got caught up in the moment and had to fight back tears. I love my people and the love we can show for one another.

Spike Lee had a few nice surprises for us like free Ben and Jerry’s ice cream, MJ T-shirts and a visit from none other than a sequined gloved Snoop Dogg. The place went crazy when the Doggfather took the stage with the homie Warren G. Both performed for a lil bit and showed some West Coast love for MJ. It was all for the Love, L.O.V.E.

We will forever miss MJ, but at least we have moments like this to come together in his name and help his dream of universal love become realized.

Luckily my good friend photographer Richard, and lady Shino got a number of pictures and footage of the event. Here’s some of the video Shino captured. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

