Don’t ride rollercoasters with an iPhone in your pocket.

August 23, 2010

iPhone 4

TRUST ME.

I am now without a phone. Naked to the world, also known as off the radar and it all started when I took my nephew to Six Flags Great Adventure. We caught an early Port Authority bus out to the amusement park with my lady Shino and our friend Yumi. The four of us were ready for adventure, screams and overpriced unhealthy food. The first thing we discovered was that now at Great Adventure for most of the big rides you have to place your bags in a locker for 1$. Instead of paying one buck per ride we found a stationary locker for 11$ (highway robbery I know). It was at this point that I should have put my phone away, fatal mistake.

After securing out things we went to take on the Nitro roller coaster as our first ride. It was a great ride filled with huge dips, loopy loops, and enough twists to possibly send my phone out of my back pocket and into the swamp. I didn’t notice my phone was missing until we were leaving the second ride of the day, the Congo Rapids which left us all drenched in water. I felt my back pocket worried about water damage only to find that my situation was much worse. My pocket was wet and completely empty. After a brief retracing of steps and sad thoughts, I filled out a report with security and went on about my day. I mean I was planning on getting a new phone anyway. That 3G was becoming slower and slower and I am due for an upgrade to the iPhone 4. So it’s not all bad right, RIGHT?!?

So fast forward to me back in Brooklyn with no phone, working with my nephew on his penmanship. I’ve called two apple stores to find out that of course they are out of stock for the new phone. The SOHO store told me people are still camping out overnight for a first crack at the phone. Really. Camping outside for a phone. This is where we are America? Is this what’s hot in the streets? Camping outside overnight for a phone you have to pay for with your hard earned money? Not I said the cat.

It will take 3 weeks for apple to send me the new phone and I have a trip to North Carolina planned in two weeks. I kinda would like my phone before that trip. That said I’m not camping anywhere. I’ve never even camped in the woods before, so you think I’m gonna waste my first camping trip on these Manhattan streets? I’m not gonna be able to do it!

But in the mean time if you have suggestions on how I can get my new phone hit me up in the comments.

Leave a Reply

